

Minutes of Guelph City Council as Shareholder of Guelph Municipal Holdings Inc.

March 28, 2023, 9:45 a.m. Council Chambers Guelph City Hall, 1 Carden Street

Council: Mayor C. Guthrie

Councillor P. Allt
Councillor C. Billings
Councillor L. Busuttil
Councillor E. Caton
Councillor K. Chew
Councillor C. Downer
Councillor R. Goller
Councillor C. Klassen
Councillor D. O'Rourke

Councillor M. Richardson

Absent: Councillor L. Caron

Councillor D. Gibson

Staff: S. Stewart, Chief Administrative Officer

C. Clack-Bush, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer, Public

Services

J. Holmes, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer,

Infrastructure, Development and Enterprise Services
T. Lee, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer, Corporate

Services

S. O'Brien, General Manager, City Clerk's Office/City Clerk

J. da Silva, Council and Committee Coordinator G. Meades, Council and Committee Coordinator

C. Murray-Sprague, Council and Committee Coordinator

J. Tang, Legislative Coordinator

1. Call to Order

Mayor Guthrie called the meeting to order at 9:45 am.

1.1 Disclosure of Pecuniary Interest and General Nature Thereof

There were no disclosures.

2. Authority to move into closed meeting

Moved By Councillor Allt Seconded By Councillor Downer

That the Council of the City of Guelph now hold a meeting that is closed to the public, pursuant to section 239 2(b) of the Municipal Act relating to personal matters about an identifiable individual, including municipal or local board employees.

Voting in Favour: (11): Mayor Guthrie, Councillor Allt, Councillor Billings, Councillor Busuttil, Councillor Caton, Councillor Chew, Councillor Downer, Councillor Goller, Councillor Klassen, Councillor O'Rourke, and Councillor Richardson

Carried (11 to 0)

The following items were considered:

- 2.1 Call to Order (closed meeting)
- 2.3 Confirmation of Minutes for the closed meetings of City Council as Shareholder of Guelph Municipal Holdings Inc held June 27, 2022.
- 2.2 Disclosure of Pecuniary Interest and General Nature Thereof (closed items)
- 2.4 Appointment of Guelph Representative to the Alectra Board of Directors
- 3. Open Meeting
- 4. Closed Meeting Summary
 - 4.1 Appointment of Guelph Representative to the Alectra Board of Directors

Moved By Councillor Allt Seconded By Councillor O'Rourke

That City Council, as Shareholder of Guelph Municipal Holdings Inc. (GMHI), direct GMHI Staff to communicate to Alectra Inc. that Jane Armstrong is the shareholder's preferred nominee to be reappointed to the Alectra Inc. Board of Directors for a three year term, commencing April 28, 2023

Voting in Favour: (11): Mayor Guthrie, Councillor Allt, Councillor Billings, Councillor Busuttil, Councillor Caton, Councillor Chew, Councillor Downer, Councillor Goller, Councillor Klassen, Councillor O'Rourke, and Councillor Richardson

Carried (11 to 0)

5. Confirmation of Open Minutes

Moved By Councillor Allt Seconded By Councillor O'Rourke

That the open meeting minutes of City Council as Shareholder of Guelph Municipal Holdings Inc. meeting held June 27, 2022 be confirmed as recorded and without being read.

Voting in Favour: (11): Mayor Guthrie, Councillor Allt, Councillor Billings, Councillor Busuttil, Councillor Caton, Councillor Chew, Councillor Downer, Councillor Goller, Councillor Klassen, Councillor O'Rourke, and Councillor Richardson

Carried (11 to 0)

6. Items for Discussion

6.1 Appointment of Auditors for Alectra Inc.

Moved By Councillor Allt Seconded By Councillor Richardson

That City Council, as Shareholder of Guelph Municipal Holdings Inc. (GMHI), direct GMHI staff to communicate to Alectra Inc. that KPMG LLP is the shareholder's preferred auditor for Alectra Inc.

Voting in Favour: (11): Mayor Guthrie, Councillor Allt, Councillor Billings, Councillor Busuttil, Councillor Caton, Councillor Chew, Councillor Downer, Councillor Goller, Councillor Klassen, Councillor O'Rourke, and Councillor Richardson

Carried (11 to 0)

7. Adjournment

Moved By Councillor Klassen Seconded By Councillor Downer

That the meeting be adjourned (10:05 a.m.)

Voting in Favour: (11): Mayor Guthrie, Councillor Allt, Councillor Billings, Councillor Busuttil, Councillor Caton, Councillor Chew, Councillor Downer, Councillor Goller, Councillor Klassen, Councillor O'Rourke, and Councillor Richardson

Carried (11 to 0)	
Mayor Guthrie	
Stephen O'Brien - City Clerk	