

# **Minutes of Guelph City Council**

## June 29, 2020, 6:00 p.m. Remote meeting live streamed on guelph.ca/live

Council: Mayor C. Guthrie

Councillor P. Allt
Councillor B. Bell
Councillor C. Billings
Councillor L. Caron
Councillor C. Downer
Councillor D. Gibson
Councillor R. Goller

Councillor J. Gordon
Councillor J. Hofland
Councillor M. Salisbury
Councillor M. MacKinnon

Councillor D. O'Rourke

Staff: S. Stewart, Chief Administrative Officer

C. Clack, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer, Public Services

K. Dedman, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer,Infrastructure, Development and Enterprise ServicesT. Lee, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer, Corporate

Services

S. O'Brien, General Manager, City Clerk's Office/City Clerk

L. Cline, Council and Committee Coordinator
T. Di Lullo, Council and Committee Coordinator

## 1. Call to Order

Mayor Guthrie called the meeting to order

## 1.1 Disclosure of Pecuniary Interest and General Nature Thereof

There were no disclosures.

## 2. Authority to move into closed meeting

Moved By Councillor Goller Seconded By Councillor O'Rourke

That the Council of the City of Guelph now hold a meeting that is closed to the public, pursuant to Section 239 (2) (b) the Municipal Act, relating to personal matters about an identifiable individual, including municipal or local board employees.

Voting in Favour: (9): Mayor Guthrie, Councillor Allt, Councillor Bell, Councillor Gibson, Councillor Goller, Councillor Hofland, Councillor Salisbury, Councillor MacKinnon, and Councillor O'Rourke

Carried (9 to 0)

The following matters were considered:

- 2.1 Disclosure of Pecuniary Interest and General Nature Thereof
- 2.2 Confirmation of Minutes for the closed Council meeting held May 25, 2020
- 2.3 June 2020 Public Appointments to Advisory Committees, Local Boards, Agencies, Commissions and Associations, 2020-07

## 3. Open Meeting

Mayor Guthrie called the meeting to order (6:31 p.m.).

#### 3.4 Closed Meeting Summary

Mayor Guthrie spoke regarding the items discussed in closed and identified the following:

#### **Confirmation of Closed Minutes**

The minutes of the Closed Council meeting held May 25, 2020 were adopted.

June 2020 Public Appointments to Advisory Committees, Local Boards, Agencies, Commissions and Associations, 2020-07

The Mayor advised that information was received and Council will report on this matter as part of the next item.

4. June 2020 Public Appointments to Advisory Committees, Local Boards, Agencies, Commissions and Associations, 2020-06

Moved By Councillor Gibson Seconded By Councillor Goller

- That Mike Puddister, Liana D'Andrea, Emily Damstra, Justine Richardson, Tom Nicholls, Sam Stevenson, Nathan McFadden, Martin Litchfield and Eric Wilkinson be appointed to the Natural Heritage Advisory Committee for a term ending April, 2021 or until such time as a successor is appointed.
- 2. That Ran Zhu be appointed to the Transit Advisory Committee for a term ending April, 2021 or until such time as a successor is appointed.
- 3. That Greg Sayer be appointed to the Solid Waste Management Master Plan Public Advisory Committee for a term ending April, 2021 or until such time as a successor is appointed
- 4. That Paul Fitzpatrick and Mario Deschamps be appointed to the Property Standards Committee for a term ending April, 2021 or until such time as a successor is appointed.
- 5. That Shannon McIntyre and Hannah Senitt be reappointed to the Wellbeing Grant Allocation Panel for a term ending June, 2022 or until such time as a successor is appointed.

Voting in Favour: (12): Mayor Guthrie, Councillor Allt, Councillor Bell, Councillor Billings, Councillor Downer, Councillor Gibson, Councillor Goller, Councillor Gordon, Councillor Hofland, Councillor Salisbury, Councillor MacKinnon, and Councillor O'Rourke

Carried (12 to 0)

## 5. Confirmation of Open Minutes

Moved By Councillor Hofland Seconded By Councillor Allt

That the minutes of the open Council Meetings held May 25 and 27, 2020, be confirmed as recorded and without being read.

Voting in Favour: (13): Mayor Guthrie, Councillor Allt, Councillor Bell, Councillor Billings, Councillor Caron, Councillor Downer, Councillor Gibson, Councillor Goller, Councillor Gordon, Councillor Hofland, Councillor Salisbury, Councillor MacKinnon, and Councillor O'Rourke

Carried (13 to 0)

## 6. Council Consent Agenda

Moved By Councillor Hofland Seconded By Councillor Allt

That the June 29, 2020 Council Consent Agenda as identified below, be adopted:

## 6.1 PS-2020-01 238 Willow Road Application, 2020-32

That the Cash-in-Lieu of parkland dedication requirement with respect to Building Permit Number 19 005894 pursuant to Bylaw (2019)-20366 be calculated based on the addition of the two new units being developed as part of that permit application.

# 6.2 The Elliott Community - Consent to Guarantee External Financing - 2020-75

- 1. That the increase in debt of \$2,000,000 that The Elliott Community is seeking from an external lender be approved.
- 2. That the City Treasurer be authorized to enter into an agreement to guarantee The Elliott Community's loan with an external lender in the total amount of \$4,000,000.

Voting in Favour: (13): Mayor Guthrie, Councillor Allt, Councillor Bell, Councillor Billings, Councillor Caron, Councillor Downer, Councillor Gibson, Councillor Goller, Councillor Gordon, Councillor Hofland, Councillor Salisbury, Councillor MacKinnon, and Councillor O'Rourke Carried (13 to 0)

## 7. By-laws

Moved By Councillor MacKinnon Seconded By Councillor O'Rourke

That By-laws Numbered (2020)-20505 to (2020)-20507, inclusive, are hereby passed.

Voting in Favour: (13): Mayor Guthrie, Councillor Allt, Councillor Bell, Councillor Billings, Councillor Caron, Councillor Downer, Councillor Gibson, Councillor Goller, Councillor Gordon, Councillor Hofland, Councillor Salisbury, Councillor MacKinnon, and Councillor O'Rourke

Carried (13 to 0)

## 8. Adjournment

| Seconded By Councillor O'Rourke            |               |
|--|---------------|
| That the meeting be adjourned (6:42 p.m.). |               |
|  | Carried       |
|  |               |
|  |               |
|  |               |
|  | Mayor Guthrie |
|  |               |

Stephen O'Brien - City Clerk